IDD Services

A portrait of Trisomie 21 adult girl smiling outside at sunset with family friend

An intellectual or developmental disability, also called IDD, includes many severe, chronic conditions that are due to cognitive and/or physical impairments. IDD can begin at any time, up to 22 years of age and lasts throughout a person’s lifetime. People who have IDD may have problems with major life activities such as:

  • Language
  • Mobility
  • Learning
  • Self-help
  • Independent Living
  • Self-direction

There are multiple IDD services and supports provided by Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). Each of these services have their own rules. Most programs require that:

  • You have limited income and assets.
  • You show a need for services.
  • You be a U.S. citizen or a qualified legal alien who lives in Texas.
  • Some services – such as those for children – have age limits. Others are for people of all ages.

In Texas, the local intellectual and developmental disability authorities (LIDDAs) serve as the point of entry for publicly funded intellectual and developmental disability (IDD) programs, whether the program is provided by a public or private entity.

Your LIDDA will determine if you can get services. To get services, one of the following must apply:

  • You must have an intellectual disability or a related condition.
  • You must have an autism spectrum disorder as defined in the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual.
  • You must have a related condition and be eligible for, and enroll in, an HHSC program that serves people with IDD.
  • You must be a nursing home resident with a diagnosis of IDD or a related condition.
  • You must be eligible for Early Childhood Intervention services.

IDD services and supports are delivered through:

  • Local Intellectual Developmental Disabilities Authorities (LIDDAS)
    • General Revenue (GR) Services
  • Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with an Intellectual Disability or Related Conditions (ICF/IID)
    • Community-based ICF/IID
    • State Supported Living Centers (SSLC)
  • Medicaid Community First Choice (CFC)
  • ICF/IID Waiver Programs
    • Home and Community-based Services (HCS)
    • Texas Home Living (TxHmL)
    • Community Living Assistance and Support Services (CLASS)
    • Deaf Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD)

Talk to Someone Now Talk to Someone Now Talk to Someone Now


Choose from a list of Counties below.

Search by city or zip code.

Click to Chat
Click to Text


Text HOME to 741741
Talk to Someone Now