The Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council

Diverse group of people together

The Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council develops, updates, and oversees the implementation of the Texas Statewide Behavioral Health Strategic Plan which outlines a coordinated effort to address behavioral health gaps in services and systems.

House Bill (H.B.) 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, (Article IX, Section 10.04) established the Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council (SBHCC). The SBHCC is comprised of representatives of state agencies or institutions of higher education that receive General Revenue for behavioral health services. In 2019, the SBHCC was codified in Government Code, Chapter 531.

The SBHCC was established to ensure a strategic statewide approach to behavioral health services. The SBHCC’s core duties include:

  • Develop and monitor the implementation of a five-year statewide behavioral health strategic plan
  • Develop annual coordinated statewide behavioral health expenditure proposals
  • Annually publish an updated inventory of behavioral health programs and services that are funded by the state

Though the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) oversees SBHCC operations, the functions and duties of the SBHCC extend by HHSC’s purview with shared accountability to the heads of agencies and institutions of higher education comprising the SBHCC, and ultimately, the Texas Legislature.

See current information about the Statewide Behavioral Health Coordinating Council meeting times and other up-to-date happenings of the council.


  • John Monk, Administrative Officer
    Health Professions Council (representing the State Board of Dental Examiners, the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, the Texas Optometry Board, the Texas Board of Nursing, and the Texas Medical Board)

  • Elizabeth Newlin, M.D., Vice Chair of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
    Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium

  • Brittney Nichols, LPC-S, Administrative Director, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
    More Info
    University of Texas Health Science Center — Tyler

  • Lori Robinson, Ph.D., Director of Integrated Treatment
    Texas Juvenile Justice Department

  • Jonas Schwartz, Program Manager, Vocational Rehabilitation Division
    More Info
    Texas Workforce Commission

  • Stacy Silverman, Ph.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Academic Quality and Workforce Division
    Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

  • Luanne Southern, Executive Director
    Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium

  • Shandra Sponsler, Deputy Branch Manager, Family Support Services
    Texas Military Department

  • Kristi Taylor, Executive Director
    Supreme Court of Texas — Judicial Commission on Mental Health

  • William Turner, Research Specialist II, Public Information Officer
    More Info
    Texas Commission on Jail Standards

  • Julie Wayman, Mental and Behavioral Health Manager, Interagency Liaison
    Texas Education Agency

  • John Wilson, Community and Faith-Based Coordinator
    More Info
    Texas Veterans Commission

  • April Zamora, Director of Reentry and Integration Division
    Texas Department of Criminal Justice — Texas Correctional Office on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments

  • Talk to Someone Now Talk to Someone Now Talk to Someone Now


    TTY: 1-800-799-4889
    Click to Chat

    Click to Chat
    Click to Chat
    Click to Text
    Text HOME to 741741